Memes & Memos
 
As part of our class in emerging media, we watched a series of documentary videos that can be found on YouTube called Gamer Revolution.

The videos show how gaming technology is changing the way people work, play and learn. According to the videos, consumers spend $25 billion a year on computer games and game systems. Additionally, 18-34 year old men spend an average of 2 hours per day playing video games.

Some of the things shown in the video were surprising. For example:
  • In Korea, thousands of spectators flock to watch champion video game players compete live. It's a national sport and these competitors are national heroes.
  • More and more, students are using computer games in the classroom to learn basic concepts, fundamentally changing the way that this generation of students learns.
  • The U.S. Army uses games to attract new recruits by providing gaming simulations that provide young people with entertainment, but also a platform for recruiters to interact with them.
I have not spent a lot of time playing video or computer games growing up, but did play a few games on Nintendo. As an adult, my reintroduction to video games came with the Wii, which I consider to be more of a parlor game. Recently, we gave it up, but I'll still play a quick game of Angry Birds or Solitaire on my iPhone to kill time.

Games are being integrated into consumer marketing efforts. Recently, I came across an online competition about one of my favorite musicians, John Lennon, designed to market a reissue of his solo albums. The website featured a series of six games, one a week for six weeks, focused on timed trivia challenges and social sharing. I was hooked and participated in the game week after week. Does this mean I'm a gamer?

Although the games were trivia and social media-based not action-based, they still represented a new way to interact with consumers. Not only did I keep coming back to the website, I shared links with my friends on Facebook and Twitter. Games of all different kinds are providing a platform for an entertainment and marketing mix.

Comments are closed.